Connect with us
Download the Field Pass Hockey App on Your Mobile Device Today
ahl 2019 generic slider Field Pass Hockey


AHL Finalizes Teams and Divisions for 2021 Season

AHL Finalizes Teams and Divisions for 2021 Season

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. The American Hockey League Board of Governors met Monday to finalize a plan for the 2021 AHL season.

Teams were given the option to opt-out of playing this season – Springfield, Milwaukee, and Charlotte all exercised the option and will not participate in the 2021 season. According to the AHL, all three teams will return for the 2021-22 season.  

The 28 remaining teams will play a condensed schedule — at least 24 games — starting February 5 and operating in five divisions.  

Additionally, four teams have been granted provisional relocations for this season: 

Digging a little deeper, the Binghamton Devils will play at the New Jersey Devils’ practice facility; the Ontario Reign will play at the Los Angeles Kings’ practice facility; while the San Diego Gulls will use the Anaheim Ducks’ practice facility in Irvine, Calif. The Providence Bruins will at the New England Sports Center, located in Marlborough, Massachusetts. 

The teams that have opted out are now scurrying to find homes for their players, with training camps set to open in a matter of weeks. The St. Louis Blues announced late Monday their contracted players will be going to Utica for this season:

The AHL has yet to solidify plans for game schedules and a playoff format. 

Stay tuned for team-specific news and follow The Sin Bin for updates as this story unfolds.

Download the Field Pass Hockey app from the iTunes or Google Play stores or follow @FieldPassHockey on Twitter for the latest news on the AHL, ECHL, and SPHL throughout the 2023 season!

    Deanna McFeron covers the Laval Rocket for Field Pass Hockey. Follow and interact with her on Twitter @FPHRocket.

    Elite Prospects
    Shop Rally House

    Recent Posts


    More in AHL

    Sporfie - Just Highlights!