Connect with us
Download the Field Pass Hockey App on Your Mobile Device Today


Multiple Changes Announced By AHL Board of Governors

Multiple Changes Announced By AHL Board of Governors

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – American Hockey League President and CEO Scott Howson announced today that the league’s Board of Governors has approved a schedule unification plan that will see all teams play a 72-game regular-season schedule beginning in 2022-23.
As part of the plan, for the 2021-22 season, teams in the Atlantic, North, and Central Divisions have the option of playing either 76 or 72 games, while teams in the Pacific Division will play 68 games. Additionally, there will be an increase in the number of teams qualifying for the Calder Cup Playoffs each year; details will be finalized and announced later in the offseason.
“I am very pleased that we were able to achieve a schedule of 72 games for all teams in the American Hockey League. In coming together to create a plan that is fair and equitable, our owners have demonstrated a commitment to the long-term strength of the league.” – Howson
The following division alignment has been approved for the 2021-22 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliations in parentheses):

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Islanders (New York Islanders)
Charlotte Checkers (Florida Panthers)
Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers)
Hershey Bears (Washington Capitals)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia Flyers)
Providence Bruins (Boston Bruins)
Springfield Thunderbirds (St. Louis Blues)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh Penguins)

2021-22 AHL Atlantic Division Alignment. Graphic courtesy of The American Hockey League.

North Division

Belleville Senators (Ottawa Senators)
Cleveland Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets)
Laval Rocket (Montreal Canadiens)
Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres)
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay Lightning)
Toronto Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs)
Utica Comets (New Jersey Devils)

2021-22 AHL North Division Alignment. Graphic courtesy of The American Hockey League.

Western Conference

Central Division

Chicago Wolves (Carolina Hurricanes)
Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit Red Wings)
Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild)
Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets)
Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators)
Rockford IceHogs (Chicago Blackhawks)
Texas Stars (Dallas Stars)

2021-22 AHL Central Division Alignment. Graphic courtesy of The American Hockey League.

Pacific Division

Abbotsford (Vancouver Canucks)
Bakersfield Condors (Edmonton Oilers)
Colorado Eagles (Colorado Avalanche)
Henderson Silver Knights (Vegas Golden Knights)
Ontario Reign (Los Angeles Kings)
San Diego Gulls (Anaheim Ducks)
San Jose Barracuda (San Jose Sharks)
Stockton Heat (Calgary Flames)
Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes)

2021-22 AHL Pacific Division Alignment. Graphic courtesy of The American Hockey League.

Teams playing 76 games in 2021-22: Chicago, Cleveland, Grand Rapids, Hershey, Lehigh Valley, Milwaukee, Rochester, Springfield, Syracuse, W-B/Scranton
Teams playing 72 games in 2021-22: Belleville, Bridgeport, Charlotte, Hartford, Iowa, Laval, Manitoba, Providence, Rockford, Texas, Toronto, Utica
Teams playing 68 games in 2021-22: Abbotsford, Bakersfield, Colorado, Henderson, Ontario, San Diego, San Jose, Stockton, Tucson

2021-22 AHL Schedule Breakdown. Graphic courtesy of The American Hockey League.

The playing schedule and postseason format for the 2021-22 season, which begins October 15th, will be announced later this summer.

Download the Field Pass Hockey app from the iTunes or Google Play stores or follow @FieldPassHockey on Twitter for the latest news on the AHL, ECHL, and SPHL throughout the 2023 season!

    Deana Weinheimer is a Managing Editor, podcast host, and covers the American Hockey League for Field Pass Hockey. Follow and interact with her on Twitter @FPHAHL.

    Recent Posts


    More in AHL

    Sporfie - Just Highlights!